An Offal Adventure, Part 1

Posted on August 27, 2011

1


I not one of those people. You know, those people who go out of their way to obtain some outlandish food. No, I create food out of the normal food I already have in my cupboard.

On a side note, today I drove a total of 3 hours on the cusp of an impending hurricane to find a British import store that sells haggis. I’m not one of those people. Nope. Not me.

I bought 4 of cans of haggis.

On a desperate mission to relive the taste of Scotland, my sister and I drove to Union Jack in Peabody, MA. I wasn’t quite sure what we’d find. It’s become my new favorite place.

Some people go nuts in candy stores.

The real thing... I hope.

Haggis without the sheep lung. It still has other offal ingredients, which I am awfully excited to consume.

Some people squeal with delight in chocolate factories. One of my brothers could spend hours in a specialty wine store. I lost all sense of propriety and class as my eyes caught sight of shelves of British imports. They have no haggis left. I bought it all. Lemon curd? Check. Jammy Dodgers? Double check. My sister had to pry me away from the tartan rugs.

Goodness gracious, I think I’ve started an annual tradition. Fall coming? Don’t fear, haggis is near! Labor Day blues? Please don’t fret, have a crumpet!

I cannot wait for tomorrow’s meals. I’m planning to have oatmeal with brown sugar and lemon curd for brunch and haggis cooked in whiskey with peas and squash tomorrow. Those are my plans, but who knows what tomorrow will bring? Cooked haggis, I hope.

