Pumpkin Cake and Cupcakes

Posted on September 27, 2011

0


Colorful and pumpkin-y

Colorful and pumpkin-y

Ginger on the inside... and the outside.

I’ll admit it; I’m a fat kid. Last weekend, I whipped up a pumpkin cake for my brother’s birthday. I modified a recipe I found online and everyone gobbled up the rich, moist pumpkin cake like it was the first meal they had had all day. I even frosted it while it was still warm, so it would stay cozy for celebration time. Mmm.

That’s not the fat kid part, though. Yesterday, I baked the same recipe, but in cupcake form. Yeah, I wasn’t content to have one piece of thick, extra pumpkiny, egg-stravagant cake, so I made more. I’m a fat kid among skinny people. Don’t look at my hideous gluttony. Urghphfgl.

At least it’s healthy-ish.

Sorta.

If you would like to make cake or cupcakes that your family will fight over, please read on. Just don’t make more than one batch in a week or you could feel like a tub-a-lub in a world of mostly-healthy skinny people… even though these are pretty healthy treats.

Rather Moist Pumpkin Cake, Like a Boss

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of white flour
  • 1 ½ cups of white sugar
  • 2 tbsp of honey
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil (I used canola oil and it was just fine.)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 can of pumpkin puree (15 oz.)
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp of salt
  • 2 tsp of cinnamon
  • ½ tsp of nutmeg
  • 2 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and make sure the rack is in the middle of the oven. I almost always forget that last bit.

2. Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl. To ensure they mix evenly, sift the ingredients while adding to the bowl. Nobody likes biting into a chunk of baking soda. Ew.

3. Add all the wet ingredients to the large bowl and mix it all up, until you want to devour the entire batch. Don’t eat it. You could get salmonella poisoning. I may have eaten a cupcake or two worth of batter, but don’t follow my example. I’m a fat kid among skinny people, remember?

4. Prepare your cupcake tins with paper cupcake wrappers and pour the batter right in. It should make about 24 cupcakes or two 9 inch circular cake pans. I did it both ways. If you’re making a cake, make sure to grease the sides with a little bit of vegetable oil or Pam. Sometimes I grease my cupcake holders, but sometimes I use the papers. It works out both ways for cupcakes.

5. Baking. Alright, here’s the difference. When cooking your cake in two 9 inch circular cake pans, bake for 35 to 40 minutes. When baking cupcakes, bake for around 25 minutes. Either way, you’ll know the cake is done when it’s not sticky on the top, bounces back when you push it, and the toothpick test comes out clean. Please try not to overcook this recipe. It will just dry out the cake and take away from the deliciousness of pumpkin.

Oh yeah! You can ice your cake any way you want. I put festive little candy corns on mine, which is just the cutest little Autumn cake ever. For the large cake, I took vanilla frosting and stirred in a little bit of ground cinnamon. The flavored icing added just the right touch and brought out the pumpkin flavor of the cake. For my cupcakes, I decorated them with candy corns again, as you can see, but I used dark chocolate frosting. Many people don’t think chocolate, pumpkin, and spices all go together, but boy are they wrong. Chocolate and pumpkin is one of the absolute best combinations. It’s like taking a Fall Festival and bringing it to your kitchen. You may have to invite the neighbors for this one, folks.

If you bake the cakes for just the right time, they should stay extremely moist and rich. I actually took out a little (an ounce) of pumpkin puree, subtracted a half cup of sugar, removed ginger, and added the honey, nutmeg, and an extra egg to a recipe I found online. I don’t really like ginger and I didn’t want an extremely sweet cake that lacked substance, so I’m thrilled that this worked out. My entire family was fighting for the last bits, which is wicked encouraging. Woooo! Go, fam!

Have fun and celebrate Fall! 🙂

Fantabulous Fall Favors

It's like Ron Weasley, pretty ginger without the spice.

McSass

p.s. These little buggers are treats. Do not consume more than your fair share. Share these as if you were buying love with the work of your hands. It could happen.

