Poor Man’s Vegan English Mini-Pasty

Posted on September 29, 2011

0


I don't know how anything could be better.

Ohmygoodfriend’spajamas. Sometimes I surprise myself with supremely superb dishes. I wish I were still hungry, just so I could eat another one of these vegan mini-pasties.

When I was in England, my kind English pal introduced me to English pasties. Pasties are a sort of smaller calzone filled with beef, potato and onion, although there are plenty of variations. You generally only need one pasty, as they are extremely filling. Pasties are comfort food to the extreme, but I’ve just created a healthy, smaller, vegan alternative to the traditional English pasty.

I’m so proud of myself right now.

Vegan Mini-Pasties

I don't know how anything could be better.

The crust melts in your mouth and the filling explodes with flavor. My roommate ate three. 🙂

Ingredients – the crust (double this recipe)

  • 2 cups of white bread flour
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 2/3 cups of almond milk
  • 6 tbsp of olive oil

Ingredients – the filling

  • 3 white onions
  • 1 small sweet potato
  • 1 small can of le sueur peas (young, small, early peas)
  • olive oil, just a little to fry up the onions

1. Chop your onions into small, minced bits and fry them on the stove on medium heat with a little olive oil. This is the first step because you want your onions to be especially caramelized for this dish. Onions take a while, so this step is your time limiting factor. Stir the onions occasionally as you prepare the rest of the dish.

2. In a large bowl, combine one batch of your crust ingredients. You’ll end up making another batch, but for right now, just make one. Throw all the ingredients together in your bowl and stir until the dough starts pulling from the sides. Once it starts sticking together, kneed it with your hands until the dough has a smooth consistency.

3. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.

4. Take out one sweet potato, wash it, and stick it in the microwave for 5 minutes: 2 on one side, 2 on the other, and then 1 on a different side. (I do apologize to all those who hate using microwaves, but I didn’t want to take the time to bake it or try to fry it.) Your sweet potato should be soft all the way through. Cut it up into chunks and then mash it up. I like the skin, so I kept it, but if you don’t like the skin, peel it off.

5. Get out a 12 cup cupcake pan. Line each cup with a thin (not transparent) layer of dough.

6. Fill the dough with your caramelized onions, then pieces of sweet potato, then some le sueur peas. Top each one off with whatever onion you have left.

7. Make the second batch of your dough and cap your mini-pasties. Create disks out of dough and gently fold them over each mini-pasty, so you think it’s attached to the other piece of dough. It’s alright if it’s not perfect, as this gives each pasty its chance to breath in the oven.

8. Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until the top is hard and you can see the sides of your pasty turn slightly brown.

Man, these are delicious. Please enjoy them and feed them to your friends. They’ll never suspect that they’re vegan, nor will they think they’re healthy, as they’re too fantastically delicious to think anything other than, “Please, sir. May I have some more?”

