Tomatoes Stuffed with Crab (Totally Gourmet)

Posted on October 4, 2011

0


Dinner is served.

When I get home from work, I’m pretty darn hungry. I don’t like waiting forever and a day while my stomach curls in on itself with writhing hunger. Maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration,

Fresh and feisty!

Fantastic balance of savory, sweet, sour and DELICIOUS. Oh, and they're wicked filling.

but I get hungry, okay? (Then, of course, I end up eating a couple cookies or dessert first, while waiting for my food to cook.)

Bad habits. Bad habits.

Last night, I pieced together an idea I’ve had lingering in the dusty corners of my mind. I totally wasn’t prepared for how easy this recipe turned out to be.

Cold Crab Stuffed Tomatoes, All Gourmet and Such

Ingredients

  • 1 can of pink crab meat
  • mayonnaise, about a tablespoon
  • 2 large tomatoes
  • arugula
  • dried cranberries (optional)
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Wash your tomatoes. Cut the tops off of them, so you can get a spoon in to gorge out the insides. I cut the top off one tomato and then cut the other one in half. Either way works.

Remove the insides of your tomatoes. Being incredibly hungry, I ate these over the sink, while my roommate laughed at how it was dripping down my chin. 🙂

Stuff the insides of your tomato shell with as much arugula as you want. It’s good for you!

Take your can of pink crab meat and mix it with mayonnaise. Portion this resulting crab salad stuff into the tomatoes, on top of the arugula.

Top the tomatoes with salt and pepper, then add your dried cranberries. Voila! Dinner is served.

This dinner is remarkably filling, totally gluten-free, soy-free, dairy-free and healthier than most anything else I eat. Sheesh. I feel good about myself.

Confidence boost, FTW.

Dinner is served.

Who needs fast food when you can make this in 3 minutes?

