Pear Crisp

Posted on October 10, 2011

3


Crispy, juicy pear goodness on a plate.

I’m a slacker and a plebe. My mother was a hamster and my father smelt of elderberries. I have an outrageous French accent that I only use around kings riding invisible horses.

Last week, I tried to use up the last of my pears. It didn’t work, but I got through another 14 of them by whipping up some warm and sweetly satisfying pear crisp. As per my usual, I only made it because it was simple and quick. Chop pears. Add oats, sugar and dairy-free (duh) margarine. Bake. Done.

Not very crispy pear crisp

Pear crisp, right before the baking part

Really, that’s it. Actually, I added a bit of honey to the mixture, but it came a little too sweet, so I wouldn’t do it again. I’m going to give you the recipe without the honey, because it’ll turn out much better that way. Also, adding practically any other kind of fruit to the mixture will jazz up your pear crisp. If I had some cranberries, blueberries, or (insert random fruit here… like peaches, strawberries, or cherries), I would have added them. I’m not saying it was bland, I’m just wishing I had used the right side of my brain a little more to come up with something more creative. If you add another fruit to the mixture, please let me know how it turns out!

Pear Crisp

Ingredients

  • 14 pears
  • 1/2 cup of packed brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup of oats
  • 3 tbsp margarine, melted (plus a little extra)
  • a healthy dose (1 tbsp) of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of nutmeg
  • dash of salt

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Farenheit.

Peel and chop up your pears into small chunks. Lay them on the bottom of a baking pan. I used a 13×9 pyrex glass baking pan, but you can use whatever you want.

Mix together your brown sugar, oats, cinnamon, nutmeg and a dash of salt. Melt your margarine and pour it on your sugar and oat mixture. It should clump up. Distribute this on the top of your chopped pears.

To make it a little richer, take a few extra spoonfulls of margarine and distribute them on top of your oat and sugar mixture. While they’re cooking, the margarine will soak into the pears and bring out the pear taste.  Juice will seep out of the pears, mingle with the margarine, oats, salt and sugar, and form a delicious little glob of yum. It’s like pear candy, but warm and “healthy”. 🙂

A sideways glance at a pear crisp pan

When texting, my T9 always subs the word "rear" for "pear". Things can get quite confusing.

Bake this mixture for about an hour. If your pears are very ripe, bake for only half an hour. If they’re not quite ripe enough, bake for a little over an hour.

Amazing! You now have a dessert that is just different enough to tempt the curious, easy enough to make yourself, and juicy enough to keep them coming back. Go get ’em, tiger.

Crispy, juicy pear goodness on a plate.

It's like the Picasso of crisp. You don't really see the resemblance...

